Reported by Justin Cooper

The Coburg Tigers Reserves side accounted for a struggling Port Melbourne outfit in the 2007 Reserves Grand Final at MC Labour Park on Sunday.

It was an eventful first term, which saw 6 goals kicked between the two sides as the Tigers took a slender 2 point lead at the first break.

But it was all the Tigers in the second term, which saw them take a 27 point advantage at the main break after Coburg slammed on 5 goals to Port’s 4 behinds.

The Tigers kept control in the third term, as they kicked 4 goals to Port’s 2, as they took an astonishing 52 point buffer at the last break.

But a 5 goal to 3 last term handed the Tigers the emphatic win and the 2007 Reserves Premiership, as they won 17.20 (112) to 8.8 (56).

Richmond listed player Cleve Hughes (5 goals) was a focal point upfront for the Tigers, as livewire forward Jonathan Mullins (3 goals) and Jake De Sousa (3 goals) all chipped in, keeping the Borough defense constantly under pressure.

Myles Sewell was terrific in the midfield as ruckman Steven Foster, who was best-a-field, constantly gave his midfield first use as Borough ruckman Rhys Bloomfield struggled to make an impact.

Dean Kelly (2 goals) and Andrew Gilham (1 goal) proved to be the most productive forwards for the Borough, until Gilham was switched down back in the second half by coach Troy West to try to relieve the pressure in that back half.

Experienced campaigner Matthew Pearce (1 goal), midfielder Sam Dwyer (2 goals) and tall utilities Nat and Bo Nixon were others who battled hard all day for the Borough.