Forum topic

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
NorthPort
NorthPort's picture
Question for those watching the SANFL..

I heard during the week that the SANFL are not throwing the ball in at the boundary line, instead paying a free kick against the team last to touch it.

Firstly.. Is that true?

If so, how well has the rule worked?

paul

They are still throwing it in, but if a handball or kick go out of bounds untouched it is a free kick. I'd expect that will be in the AFL (and VFL) before too long.

NorthPort
NorthPort's picture

Thanks Paul, it must be bloody difficult for defenders who are grooming to get a clearing kick to get the ball out of there area.

 


paul

I read somewhere that in the games they monitored before the rule was introduced it only happened around four times per game.