Coburg captain Nick Carnell takes through a typical week in the life of a VFL footballer


Reported by Nick Carnell
Full article - click here

EVER wondered what it’s like to play VFL football? We asked Coburg captain Nick Carnell to write a diary detailing a typical week.

Here is what he came back with.


WE HAVE just walked off Chirnside Park after a disappointing 55-point loss to Werribee.

Vice-captain Ben Clifton sums up the day: “one quarter of good footy doesn’t allow us to compete at this level”.

At our team meeting, coach Peter German is disappointed with the way we went about it as well. He highlights some keys statistics that let us down and some focus areas for our next match. Peter’s main message is we will continue to search for the right people as it is the only way we as a club will improve.

After the meeting, it is time to commence rehabilitating. Trainers, physiotherapist’s and our high performance team fill the room to ensure all players refuel their bodies and attend to any injuries. Our weights are taken to assess how much fluid we have lost throughout the game, which then outlines the amount of fluid we must replenish our bodies with over the next two hours. After this, foods with high proteins are supplied and players have ice baths and showers before after match presentations.

Monday, July 6

TRAINING is at Piranha Park and the list is broken up into three separate groups for a compulsory weights session.

The main focus for our recovery sessions is to get the body moving again and review the weekend’s match with the aim of continuing to develop as individuals and as a group. Our video edits have been are loaded on the computers in the ‘Learning Room’ and each player takes time to review their own game with their line coach. This is an opportunity for players to seek clarity on the area of their game they need to work on and for coaches to highlight any specific trends they may be finding in a players’ game.

A light running and skill session occupies 30 minutes of our training tonight, managed by the high performance team led by James McConnell. After this, it is back into the ice bath, before heading into our team review.

Peter is forever repeating that Monday night is the most important training session, as it is where we do the most of our learning. All 50 players attend to watch presentations from each senior line coach followed by a short presentation from Peter which includes several video edits.

Every fortnight, the leadership group meets.

These meetings provide an opportunity for the senior members of the team to plan and monitor the development of the playing group. We discuss the progress of each player, along with our alignment as a club with our team values. We also use this forum as opportunity to provide each member with 360 degree feedback about their leadership performance.

Tuesday, July 7

THE demands of playing VFL are becoming more ruthless. Competing against full-time athletes on a weekly basis, it is vital that all VFL players manage their time to progress their careers or studies at the same time as training to a high level. Tuesday night is a non-compulsory session, yet every player would be doing something to assist their football. Tonight I go for a light 4km run and do a weights session.

VFL Round 15

Geelong vs Essendon at Simonds Stadium 11am
Port Melbourne vs Williamstown at North Port Oval 12:12pm(Channel 7)
(Development League game starts at 9am)
Richmond vs Sandringham at Punt Road 1:30pm
Coburg vs Footscray at Piranha Park 2pm
North Ballarat vs Frankston at Eureka Stadium 2pm
(C/Raiser TAC Cup North Ballarat Rebels vs Queensland at 11am)

Collingwood vs Casey Scorpions at Victoria Park 12pm(Casey Radio)
(Dev League)Frankston vs Sandringham at Frankston 12pm
Werribee vs Box Hill Hawks at Avalon Airport Oval,Werribee 2pm(3WBC,VFL Live)
(Development League game starts at 11am

VFL Bye:Northern Blues
Development League Byes:Coburg,Casey Scorpions,Northern Blues

story topic: 

VFL Round 14

Essendon vs North Ballarat at Windy Hill 12pm(VFL Radio)
Northern Blues vs Casey Scorpions at IKON Park 2pm
(Development League match starts at 11am)
Werribee vs Sandringham at Avalon Airport Oval,Werribee 2pm
(Development League match starts at 11am)

Geelong vs Footscray at Simonds Stadium 11:42am(Channel 7)
Richmond vs Port Melbourne at Punt Road 1pm
Coburg vs Box Hill Hawks at Piranha Park,Coburg 2pm(3WBC)
(Development League match starts at 11am)
Frankston vs Collingwood at Frankston Park 2pm(Casey Radio)
(Development League match Frankston vs Port Melbourne starts at 11am)

VFL and Development League Bye: Williamstown

story topic: 

Toyota Top 5 moments - Round 12

It's been a great initiative from the VFL this season.

Heres' this rounds highlights.

Which plays did you see that should have made the top 5 this week?

I've been sorting through some old files on the PC

and found these two rippers!

File attachments: 
1981 Channel 10 Full Intro886.12 KB
1982 Channel 10 Short Intro221.26 KB

VFL Round 13

Werribee vs Geelong at Avalon Airport Oval,Werribee 12pmstrong>
Northern Blues vs Richmond at Preston 12:12pm(Channel 7)
Box Hill Hawks vs North Ballarat at Box Hill 1pm(3WBC)
Footscray vs Collingwood at Whitten Oval 1pm
Williamstown vs Frankston at Burbank Oval,Williamstown 2pm
(Development League match starts at 11am)

Casey Scorpions vs Port Melbourne at Casey Fields 2pm(Casey Radio)
(Development League match starts at 11am)
Sandringham vs Coburg at Trevor Barker Oval,Sandringham 2pm(VFL Live)
(Development League match starts at 11am)

VFL Bye: Essendon
Development League Byes: Box Hill Hawks,Northern Blues,Werribee

story topic: 

Congratulations Michael Robinson - Timekeeping his 350th Frankston game today.

I'd like to send my warmest congratulations to Michael, who we know here as Robbo.

Timekeeping his 350th Frankston game today is one hell of achievement.

Aside from his long-serving contribution to the Dolphins, Robbo is a passionate follower of just about all sports, including Australian Rules travelling to Adelaide to support the crows, Cricket where he scores at Premier League, State and even national games as well as Rugby following the storm. He has travelled all over Australia to follow his passion in sport.

VFL Round 12

(Dev League)Sandringham vs Casey Scorpions at Trevor Barker Oval,Sandringham 9:30am
Williamstown vs Essendon at Burbank Oval,Williamstown 12:12pm(Channel 7)
(Development League Williamstown vs Northern Blues at 9am)
Collingwood vs Sandringham at Victoria Park 2pm
Casey Scorpions vs Geelong at Casey Fields 2pm
Footscray vs Northern Blues at Whitten Oval 2pm
Box Hill Hawks vs Frankston at Box Hill 2pm(3WBC)
(Development League match starts at 11am)

North Ballarat vs Richmond at Eureka Stadium 1:30pm(Casey Radio)
Werribee vs Coburg at Avalon Airport Oval,Werribee 2pm(VFL Live)
(Development League match starts at 11am)

Development League and VFL Bye: Port Melbourne

story topic: 

Are you enjoying the Channel 7 coverage of the VFL?

100% (10 votes)
0% (0 votes)
Total votes: 10

*Breaking* North Ballarat Roosters will not renew FitzGerald’s contract

From the Ballarat Courier
Reported by Melanie Whelan
Full article - Click here

LEGENDARY VFL coach Gerard FitzGerald will not be reappointed at the Roosters’ helm.

North Ballarat Roosters tonight released a statement via social media that the board would not extend FitzGerald’s contract, which ends this season.

“This decision sends a message of change within the club for its next stage of development as it enters the VFL as a standalone team in 2016,” the statement read.

“The board continues to review the organisation's football structure to ensure that the club is well positioned for sustained success in the VFL. The board believes that these changes will be necessary to ensure that the club can be competitive in the ever evolving VFL landscape.”

Fitzgerald has agreed to coach out the season.