Forum topic

1 post / 0 new
Last post
Last seen: 1 month 1 week ago
Joined: 13/03/2004 - 00:00
VFA Grand Finals- looking back 1976 to 1980
VFA Grand Final- looking back 1976 to 1980 1st Division 1976 Port Melbourne19.18.132 d Dandenong 10.15.75 Infamous Grand Final. Very fiery and tough with the borough prevailing. Will be remembered forever. 1977 Port Melbourne23.19.157 d Sandringham 7.15.57 Port made it back to back winning in the VFA's centenary year by 100 points. 1978 Prahran 21.15.141 d Preston 17.17.119 Sam Kekovich v Harold Martin. Another fiery encounter with the two blues emerging. A young Wayne Johnston goes on to play a few premierships with Carlton. 1979 Coburg 16.15.11 d Geelong West 14.19.103 Fisher of Coburg chases his own kick to kick a goal and seal the burgers first flag for 51 years. 1980 Port Melbourne11.15.81 d Coburg 10.10.70 Port Melbourne comes back from the dead to play all over Coburg and win the flag. 2nd Division 1976 Williamstown 19.13.127 d Mordialloc 9.16.70 Williamstown thrashed hot flag favourite Mordialloc in a tough match. The seagulls were captain coached by former Port player mal allen. 1977 Mordialloc 19.19.133 d Yarraville 14.11.95 Mordialloc upset Yarraville who were coached by former Footscray and Richmond player David Thorpe. Yarraville were wooden spooners the previous year and did well to reach the Grand Final after a massice recruiting drive. Victorious Mordialloc won their only flag in the VFA and wer coached by former Geelong player Geoff Rosenow. 1978 Frankston 15.13.103 d Camberwell 13.11.89 Frankston won their only flag in the VFA with a large crowd at Toorak Park. 1979 Camberwell 18.14.122 d Oakleigh 12.11.83 The cobras break through for their first ever flag and had to wait 51 years to do do. 1980 Brunswick 20.27.147 d Yarraville 14.14.98 Brunswick upset Yarraville who were coached by Denis Pagan.
Edited by: admin on 28/12/2008 - 02:17