Forum topic

1 post / 0 new
Last seen: 2 years 4 months ago
Joined: 17/03/2022 - 20:46

The board in conjunction with the past players committee is proud to announce the clubs VFL leading goal kicker award from season 2022 onwards will be proudly named after our two greatest ever goal kickers. This award is presented each year to the player who has kicked the most goals for the club in that VFL season.

The Bonnett-Cook Leading Goal Kicker Award

Bob Bonnett (1933 – 11 May 2018)

  • 933 goals
  • 229 games
  • 12 times leading goal kicker, consecutively.
  • coach and assistant coach
  • President of the Past Players for 2 decades.

Fred Cook (1947 – 1 February 2022)

  • 253 games,
  • 1210 goals
  • 11 time leading Goal Kicker
  • 6 time premiership player
  • First VFA Player to play 300 games

CEO Paul Malcolm said, “This is a great recognition of two of the clubs all-time great footballers who also helped put the clubs name up in lights and drew great attention to the VFA during their time at the club. Port Melbourne Football Club was very privileged to have these two great men part of our teams. Our future goal kickers will forever be reminded of their great deeds on the field.”